Surgical Face Masks - Which Code

Hello All,

I have found a supplier in China for a large stock of the EN14683 3-ply surgical masks. This is my first time doing trading and by reading all the existing topics, I am quite confused if it should be classified as 6307909810 or 9020000020?
Please if someone can help
Thanks a lot!

Hi. There are some BTI’s for non-woven disposable masks. The commodity code stated is 6307909810

Thanks a lot for the reply! It is very helpful

HMRC - for the provision of masks suitable for supplying support workers at this COVID time, is HMRC really keeping to this code of 6307909810? This attracts a 6.3% (China) import duty rate … surely this should be duty free at this time (especially if they are being bought to provide FOC to support workers?)

Please advise.
Many thanks

It’s the EU’s common customs tariff, nothing to do with HMRC. While we are in the brexit transition period the UK still has to abide by the EU rules. The UK tariff (still being discussed) wont come into force until 1st Jan 2021.

Apologies to HMRC (its in the email address when asking queries on classification).
These are masks to protect key workers for the current pandemic. Are you sure that rules cannot be amended prior to 2021? This is a significant cost that surely could and should be temporarily relaxed for the increased cost to nation if people cannot protect themselves as cheaply and easily as possible?

Hi, I believe these are the basic 3-ply surgical masks. Can someone please advise on the correct code for N95/FFP2 masks if different?

Many thanks in advance

Any mask if u still need please call me : 07925605366, thanks

Hi,